Islamic Scholarly Tradition

 

This course is designed to introduce students to the different scholarly traditions of Islam, including Quran,HadithFiqh and Tasawwuf. Sessions on the Quran and Hadith will focus on their compilation and authenticity while sessions on fiqh and tasawwuf will aim to take the student through a brief discussion on their sources. Each of the traditions discussed in this course will be explored in further detail in a sequel to this course to be offered in the Winter Term.

Instructor: Mawlawi Syed Sair Ali

Day: Sunday

Class Timings: 08:00 am NY/ 1 pm UK/ 2 pm CET/ 5 pm UAE/ 6 pm PK

(in case of any discrepancy in class timings, Pakistan timing will be considered as standard)

Class Duration: 120 minutes

*This course is currently not being offered.

Instructor Profile:

Mawlawi Syed Sair Ali returned to Pakistan after completing his LLM in Islamic Law from the University of East London. He has also received his BSc. with Honors in Social Sciences from the Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS). At LUMS he was actively engaged in bringing people closer to the deen as the President of the LUMS Religious Society. He began his pursuit of Classical Islamic Learning under traditional scholars, studying Quran, Tafsir, Hadith, Fiqh, Usul al-Fiqh and Arabic in 2007 and is currently completing his 6th year of the Dars e Nizami course.